the Crap King

notes
archive
latest
host


2002-04-28

The Scorpion King you ask? It was so boring and inept it sort of looked like maybe they picked someone off the street, like me, and made them the director. �Um yeah, Rock, now pick up the sword and like kick some ass. Uh, you extras run around, act like your going to kick the Rock�s ass and then let him win. Ok, Kelly, can you lower your metallic bikini bottom a little more? Is the camera on? When�s lunch?� Nearly fell asleep. Boring movies are like getting stuck on a long train ride to work without my music or reading material. And you can�t even talk to your friends sitting right next to you. Promises to be entertaining were made and broken. Oh Hollywood you lied again. Half way in I lost interest and started thinking about how there are some leaves on the trees outside my apartment windows and how it�s neat that the way they are arranged on the branches looks so nice and perfect. Each green leaf a certain distance from the other leaf. The mathematical formula in the tree�s DNA for that somehow translates in my brain to �pretty�. Is that so my caveman ancestors would be less inclined to cut them down? I also finally saw Sexy Beast on dvd. Great. What other movie has such scary and tough, middle-aged men? The opening scene looked like maybe Pam was the director. �Um yeah, British Guy, just lie there in the sun in your speedos like that. Uh, more suntan oil!� On the way back from Evanston we stopped at a Russian (Georgian) bakery on Devon that I had no idea existed. They had freshly made pastry puffs that were smeared inside with farmers cheese. Melted in your mouth. Nice experience for me after reading that Harper�s mag�s article on how well you can eat in Russia now. Despite my Chinese food rants, Chicago has some good eats. And trees.

previous next