fans note

notes
archive
latest
host


2002-12-18

I recently finished reading Frederick Exley�s �A Fan�s Notes�. It�s yet another book I�ve heard and read about for years and was even given a copy as a gift (by Jim H.) but could never get started. It was sitting on my bookshelf till last week. I guess it�s a bildungsroman , with lots of drinking and going insane and smoking and sex. Sort of like if the main character of the Moviegoer was a blue collar kid from upper New York and way more psycho at times. Uh, sort of. Anyway, it was excellent and I understand why people rave about it. It�s pretty rude and brutal reading at times yet also very funny and I felt a little crazy while reading it. I read it while also reading Howard Zinn�s �A People's History of the United States: 1492 to Present�. I have not finished it yet but it also makes me feel a little crazy while reading it.

previous next