lonelygirls

notes
archive
latest
host


2001-05-26

Why is it raining on my birthday? Actually, as someone pointed out, it's a nice rain. I walked in the rain to a place called the Outdoor Caf� today, which I had not been to in years (or it felt that way). It�s actually indoors. But inside it�s decorated like the outside. Yeah, life is confusing. They have coffee and sell Pocky and that crushed ice and red paste dessert and it was a nice way to spend a rainy Saturday afternoon. You should go. It�s a Korean hangout but don�t let it scare you away even if you are not, or are, but are scared of such places. You know what I mean. And if you don�t, call me up and I�ll try to explain myself. Unless you are that person who calls me and just wants to know what I�m wearing. I keep telling you: "Feminist Chicks Dig Me" t-shirt, silk pajamas, smoking jacket, and a fez. Except today I�m wearing the birthday fez.

This morning I woke up to Lucinda Williams on NPR. They played part of her new song Lonely Girls.

�Sparkly rhinestones shine on lonely girls��

The way she sang the words �lonely girls� made my heart float out of my body and cross the street where it rose up into the sky and spun lazily in circles under the sun, humming her song, right before borrowing all my cash to go record shopping. My heart does that sometimes. My spleen just lay there as usual, the lazy, unfeeling bastard.

previous next