sunday shoes

notes
archive
latest
host


2002-08-11

I�m at work on a Sunday morning unpacking stuff and making sure all my �stuff� (official tech term) is working. I was pissed at first till I saw all the people who have to really work today, running around helping people like me. Just spent 10 minutes arguing with one of them who kept saying it was �impossible� to set up my computers and monitors the way I wanted to. And then he realized I was right and we did that whole polite thing where we pretend he didn�t just act like the tech guy on SNL and use the word �impossible� five times as if I had asked him if I could just use a Gameboy Advanced to do all my computer stuff. But he�s stressed and it�s not fair to make fun of him, except it�s fun. This morning, biking to the Loop via Elston, near the Morton Salt factory, I noticed a pair of men�s leather loafers, brown, neatly placed in the gutter, facing the curb. Like someone politely took them off before he stepped onto the sidewalk, so he wouldn�t get the sidewalk dirty, like you might do when entering a house in Asia.

previous next