Wings of Desire

notes
archive
latest
host


2003-03-27

City of Angels is on tv. Looks bad. The orginal, Wings of Desire was one of my earliest "foreign film" experiences. At a tender age I thought it was genius. I haven't seen it in a long time and I hear it might not hold up. I should see it again soon and find out. I guess a lot of people have had the same experience with that film in high school or college. My friend Anton once told me a story about his college roommates and that movie. One was an intense arty guy who worshipped that movie. One day he was watching the movie with Anton and was lecturing him about the genius of the movie when the other roommate, this party/frat guy came out of the bathroom and said really excitedly, "Dudes! You gotta see the size of this shit I just took!" And the intense guy stood up without a word and left the room, slamming the door behind him, and didn't come back for a day.

I understand. That's how I get when I'm watching Empire Records.

previous next