books

notes
archive
latest
host


2000-09-15

Books I have on my bed tonight (cause I'm messy like that) I have to move when I climb in:

Salamander by J. Robert Janes (Good mystery set in WWII France. I'm gonna buy the other ones. It's printed by SOHO Press. They have been doing a great job of reprinting lost authors and foreign stuff. Nice quality paperbacks.)

Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murkami (Bought yesterday! Syd reminded me it was out so I bought it but only read couple pages before falling alseep cause it was so late.)

Unix Power Tools by Jerry Peek, Tim O'Reilly and Mike Loukides(Great! But not much plot. Have to get to know this one better for work. Can't belive I own and read this.)

House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski (I'm half-way and bored. I think he might be the Dean Koontz of Post-Modern lit. This is no Infinite Jest no matter what the hell Bret Easton Ellis says on the backcover blurb. But who knows since I haven't finished it. I'll give it a few more chapters. I usually don't drop books but I'm getting older so life is shorter and I have to move on!)

A Conspiracy of Tall Men by Noah Hawley (Had not heard about this before but it caught my eye at the lib. I really liked it. Like White Noise by Don DeLillo meets X-Files meets yo mama. Reminded me of DeLillo but lighter in a way I liked. Some really funny and beautiful writing. It says on the cover, "The National Bestseller". Never heard of it but glad I read it.)

Oh, and on my bed is Daniel Clowes' graphic novel David Boring and the CD Perolas Aos Povos by Rita Ribeiro, a Brazilan singer I heard on NPR. It's Jamie my roomates birthday tommorow and I have to wrap the book and cd. I have no wrapping paper but I usually just use magazine ads now. Don't tell him what I got him!!! I'll give them to him in the morning so it should be ok. Tape. I hope I have tape.

previous next