2001

notes
archive
latest
host


2001-12-30

My 2001 list for Tom the HairMaster Who Asked-In no particular order, category, year (some of it is pretty old but I just got to it), or correct spelling. Just stuff I liked in 2001 and now remember as I write this:

Adult Swim

Chocolategenius � Godmusic

Beulah � The Coast is Never Clear

Basement Jaxx - Rooty

The Lord of the Rings books

Wilco - live show and unreleased album

The Shins � Oh Inverted World

My bicycle

Destroyer � Streethawk, a Seduction

Ghost World

In the Mood For Love

The Seven Samurai (critareon dvd edition) � Akira Kurasawa (probally the best movie I�ve seen this year. Have you seen this? Incredible. He really should of made the Lord of the Rings. Makes almost all adventure movies pale by comparison.)

O� Brother Where Are Thou � Cohen Bro.

Tamales ( from that place in Old Irving Park the name I can�t remember. But it was like heaven on a plate)

char sui

Fast Food Nation

Comfort Me With Apples � Ruth Reichl

My Heated Mattress Pad

Nelly � (the single Ride Wit Me. It�s one of the one songs on popular radio that they played a lot and I liked a lot. It�s such a weird pop song, with that great hook that�s suppose to be boastful yet sounds melancholy, the way great pop hooks should)I'd call it my guilty pleasure but who am I kidding? I don't feel guilty.

Montreal the beautiful and tasty city (I�d go back just for another donut)

Tom�s Town � at http://www.uicradio.ws/schedule.html

Uncle Jeff - "Rock of Ages: Roots, Stems, and Seeds" at http://www.uicradio.ws/schedule.html

Wait Wait Don�t Tell Me

Le Tigre � Feminist Sweepstakes

Revolutionary Road � Richard Yates

Cold Comfort Farm � Stella Gibbons

Outkast - stankonia

Desperate Characthers � Paula Fox

Pam�s idea/wish of her being reincarnated as Pam Anderson and Kid Rock�s baby.

Atheists in foxholes

My furry slippers � Target

The Delgados � the Great Eastern

Anne Heche interviews

Maggie Chung perched on the edge of a chair in the Mood For Love

Mullholand Drive � David Lynch

Naomi Watts as a plucky Nancy Drew of sorts in the first half of Mullholand Drive.

Together �Lucas Moodysson. This was the Swedish movie about living in a commune in the 70�s.

Undeclared

Grounded for Life

Carter Beats the Devil � Glen David Gould

Tina Fey (of course)

Langley Schools Music Project � Innocence and Despair

www.smallstoriesonline.com

Eightball issue 22 by Daniel Clowes.

And last but not least, the pot of Portuguese bean soup I�m warming up.

Um, I guess it�s a list like most others. I think I�d rather read other people�s lists than make my own. Besides, I�ve forgotten more than I�ve remembered I think.

previous next