They Should Of Turned On the Disco Ball

notes
archive
latest
host


2002-11-07

�We�re here, we�re queer,� Claudia Gonson said as she entered the stage, all bundled up in sweater and knit cap. It was more stage banter than political sloganeering and the audience chuckled and applauded. I went to see The Future Bible Heroes last night at Schuba�s and it was one of the best shows I�ve seen this year. It was a lot less disco-e than the albums and more Magnetic Fields, with Stephin Merritt singing some of the songs with just his ukulele (or was it a mandolin?), which was what I was hoping for. Merritt�s bands are one of the few bands that I like better live. Songs that I don�t care for when I hear them on the disc become charming when I hear them play it on stage. Live, I loved hearing every one of the 69 love songs, on CD I tend to hit the skip button on some of them. I wonder if there�s a live CD? Also Merritt looked miserable the whole time. But he loves it. My only complaint was that they should of turned on the discoball. But that�s my complaint about everything.

previous next